Rugby World Cup 2015 Pools

The below table details the Pools for the Rugby World Cup 2015 as they stand. As you can see there are still some teams yet to qualify, I’ll update these as they happen.

Pool APool BPool CPool D
AustraliaSouth AfricaNew ZealandFrance
Oceania 1Asia 1GeorgiaCanada
Playoff WinnerUSAAfrica 1Romania

Unfortunately the official IRB site is a little lacking on solid information as to when precisely the qualification process will end, but the likely qualifiers as it stand are as follows;

Asia 1: Japan
Oceania 1: Fiji
Africa 1: Namibia
Playoff Winner: Likely to be decided between Uruguay and Russia, my money’s on Russia.

As soon as any of these are confirmed I’ll be sure to update the table

Related Posts

Tadgh Beirne Jackal

What is a Jackal in Rugby? Is it even Legal?

What is a Jackal in Rugby? Is it even legal? For those new to the sport, the jackal is an action enabling a player to steal the ball from an opponent just after a tackle and before a ruck is formed. The ‘Jackler’, the player attempting to reclaim the ball before the ruck forms aims ... Read more

What is a Mark in Rugby Union; When and Why call it?

A mark in Rugby Union refers to a player catching the ball cleanly from a kick made by an opponent, while being inside their own 22-meter area. When the referee awards a mark , the player who caught the ball is given the option to take a free kick from the spot they made the ... Read more

What exactly is a Penalty Try in Rugby Union & how is it scored?

A penalty try is awarded after foul play prevents a probable try from being scored. Typically penalty tries are awarded close to the defending teams tryline and often after sustained pressure. The attacking team is awarded 7 points automatically and does not have to attempt the conversion (prior to 2017, the attacking team had to ... Read more

Leave a comment